stay tuned this is a woman on the move who is tired of living a life of excuses and is going to do something about it, whatever it takes (nothing that breaks my moral code of course) My life, my struggles to get out of debt, getting healthy and not knowing what's next. trying to figure it all out. anyway I can

Okay this one won’t be as long (yeah right)  just a brief synopsis of my weekend away.

Well we left on a rainy thursday afternoon, got there around 4:30pm or so. (google lied it took us only 3hrs to get there) oh well checked in and then went and unloaded our stuff in the room/apartment/condo.  They are beautiful and big, definitely way better then what we were going to do which was three cramped rooms in the main building. I show pictures on the review .

We then preceded to the main building where the restaurants are and had supper in the Maple Grill really great variety okay prices.. Okay this is sounding like my first post right, well it’s going to get better.

After we ate we went back to the room changed and tried to locate where are meeting was.  After some walking around we located the entrance at the back.  It was a great meeting and I got to meet some of the greatest down to earth people.  That night was intense because at the end of the meeting they asked if anyone needed prayer for the gifts of the Holy Spirit to come up and well I am still having issues with that one so I didn’t go up then they asked for people that are suffering depression to come up, or illnesses so I went up.  I don’t know what your beliefs are (peeps that read this) but when I went up and Marcia prayed for me I seriously felt something break don’t know how to explain it but I was bawling my eyes out from the release of what ever that has been holding me back.  I felt like 10 pds lighter after that.

Then we went back to the condo and of course I am in a room with a bunch of ladies that go to bed early so no late night slumber party for me.  Oh well I did discover that I had internet on my cell phone so I checked Facebook and watched videos on Youtube (Shortland Street).  Then it was bed time.  Wish I could say it was a great sleep but the bed was too hard for my liking.

Next morning the plan was to go work out but no one wanted to so we just got up and went to the morning meeting.  Another great one, because this was a women’s conference there was a lot of great stuff being offered in books, gifts and supporting various charities that Victory is involved in.  They had these aprons that some lady made to raise funds for her trip to Cambodia and these gorgeous 100% silk scarves my pastor bought two, she was wearing one at the gala in the pic at the bottom.

Friday we chilled my pastor went horseback riding would have went but it was $55 for an hour too rich for my unemployed bum.  So we chilled in the condo then we went and worked out.  I don’t know about you but the treadmill to me is boring, in order for me to get anything out of it I have to increase the incline and speed it up then I feel like I am doing something, I tried running but I’m not fit enough for that yet.  Then I headed over to the machine that looks like those things that Christie Brinkley and Chuck Norris advertise with out the bench and did some Arm stuff, then I tried to do some work on the ball, that didn’t go to well (It’s not my ball) couldn’t get it to do what I wanted.

After that I tried the elliptical and normally I am all over that, but this machine really hurt my knees so that lasted about 10mins.  So then I just watched the other ladies in my group, including my mom rowing and doing floor exercises.

Then it was time for the pool and the best part about that is that I walked into the pool area and was not assaulted by the overwhelming scent of chlorine that is normally in public pools (chemical sensitivity), I am pretty sure that their main pool is salt and the hot tubs are chlorine.  So I went swimming the first time I have been since my trip out west in the summertime and I forgot how much I love it so one of the first things I am doing is going to get a membership at the “Y” so I can go swimming again, or heck I might even venture to the beach this summer.  I was doing laps, flips and we were basically behaving like children having handstand contests, who could stay underwater the longest. swimming between each other legs.  It was awesome unfortunately it had to end.  We had to get ready for the gala.

The funny thing is I take the longest to get ready of everyone and I was the first one out of the shower, so I got to get my makeup done by a pro (my pastor) who is also a trained pro and did an amazing job, I am so sorry I can’t show it but trust me I felt like a princess with my hair and makeup done in my dress (that I haven’t fit in for 5 years).  So I am now starting to feel that there are changes taking place.  Trust me when I am ready to reveal the before and after I will.  Thank you for your patience.

The Gala: oh my goodness it was so lush and beautiful.  Beautifully decorated tables with gift bags and our menus tucked into our napkins.  Great punch that made me drink pop for the first time in 11 years, back on the wagon again.  This was our menu: It was a 3 course meal

Starter/Appetizer:  Butternut Squash soup, sweetened with Muskoka maple Syrup

Entree: Supreme of chicken filled w/spinach & ricotta on roasted red pepper emulsion served with Chef’s Choice of seasonal vegetables.

Dessert: White and Dark Chocolate duo on chocolate sponge cake served w/coffee and specialty teas.

I’m getting hungry all over again for it, the dessert was perfect and because someone at my table was allergic to chocolate I didn’t want to see it go to waste so I ate it lol well half of it plus mine.

There were amazing purses given out “designer purses”, not to sure about that.  Oh well they were very pretty anyways.

It was a great evening listened to another great message from Hazel Hill and a message from Karin Mccoy who is in charge of the mission work that Victory is doing in Cambodia she is also involved with Not4Sale which is involved with rescuing kids from slavery/sex trade.  A subject that I am very passionate about.

The highlights of the evening besides the food were when each of the group of girls from the various churches got prayer from Hazel Hill it was very special and so cool to have her speaking into our lives.

The other highlight is when we got back to the condo we wanted to take some more pictures well we got a little silly and giddy (lack of sleep) but it was a blast just chilling in our fancy dress and taking pictures and chatting till 11pm.  Yep I had a bunch of party animals in my condo.  Oh well I was tired anyways.

Saturday was more meetings, and then we headed home.  My mom though ended up winning this really cool laptop bag made out of a sandbag from Cambodia and of course she gave it to me so that was cool.

The trip home not so cool, this when my weekend started to go downhill.  Okay I know my triggers for migraines and one of them is not eating, well I had forgotten to bring my shake to lunch so I didn’t have one and by the time I got in the vehicle I was in full blown migraine mode and add to the fact van sitting out in sun well that made me overheat.  So here I am full blown migraine, nauseous and overheated, it made for a really fun ride home.  Well it got worse and I ended up vomiting in a bag, but being the klutz that I am it wasn’t closed (yep it leaked on me and the van yeah) so we stopped I got cleaned up and then we started on the way again.

Well it started again okay I have motion sickness, but normally I just focus and it goes away but this time nothing was making it stop so they ended putting me in the front when we stopped a 2nd time for gas/food and that helped.

So the long winded story is going to end the gist of it is that we got home around 6-6:30 after a small detour to Walmart for food to eat for the week, then got home dropped the bags and I went straight to bed where I slept right through till morning around 9am or so.

Most of the next week was spent with a bad migraine, nauseous, flu like symptoms w/vertigo it was a fun week which is why I disappeared so there you go my adventure to Deerhurst is done and now were onto some fun stuff I like to call my life lol..

Thanks and God Bless

Tina Marie

Comments on: "Deerhurst Resort part 3:" (1)

  1. Sounds like a lot of fun! But too bad you got sick afterwards. Almost cancels out the trip.

    And… you didn’t know your phone had internet? Hope you don’t get a huge bill from it.

Leave a Reply

